Irstea’s expertise at the European Geosciences Union (EGU) General Assembly 2018

Irstea will send researchers from the Antony, Grenoble and Lyon Centers to participate (oral presentations and posters) and organize several sessions.

Researchers from the HYDRO team in the HYCAR unit will present the latest developments made to the free airGR software and its educational edition airGRteaching. airGR has been improved by Irstea to transform rainfall into flow rate simply and quickly while airGRteaching can be used to teach hydrological modeling at the Master's degree level. The airGRteaching software has just been made available globally while airGR was released last year.

2 PhD students from the HYDRO, Léonard Santos and Cédric Rebolho, will also attend and present their research into combining several hydrological models to obtain a robust and secure application of the MHYST method (to calculate the extend of flood zones on a small scale) to the Seine river basin.

Researchers from the RiverLy unit in Lyon will also participate in the Hydrological Sciences group and will present the PESHMELBA project. The aim of this project was to develop a water circulation and pesticide transfer model scaled for small river basins. The model takes into account landscape organization (presence of discontinuities such as ditches or grass strips).

The teams from Grenoble (ETNA and LESSEM units) will be involved in the geomorphology, hydrology, natural hazards and soil sciences themed groups. The PROSNOW project will be presented. It aims to develop decision-making tools to optimize snow management in ski resorts, and will bring together 12 European partners over a 3 year period. The tool will offer operators snow height or stock predictions for several days and several months, and will incorporate the characteristics of the ski areas.

In total, Irstea will be involved in over 50 activities at the EGU general assembly this year.


Maria-Helena Ramos, Hydrology research associate in the HYDRO team and coordinator of HEPEX, was elected vice-president of the Hydrological Sciences section for a year and will become president of the same section in April 2019.

For more information