Roland Lenain wins 2018 Sedimaster award

On February 27, 2019 at SIMA, Roland Lenain, research director at Irstea, was awarded the 2018 Sedimaster prize for research excellence in the field of agricultural machinery.

The French National Union of Service and Distribution Companies in Agricultural Machinery, Green Spaces and Skilled Trades (SEDIMA) awarded Roland Lenain, research director at Irstea, a SEDIMASTER prize on Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at SIMA. This yearly honor recognizes research promoting agricultural machinery. This year, Lenain earned this distinction for his accomplishments in robotics research.

Forty-year-old Roland Lenain heads the Robotics and Mobility for the Environment and Agriculture team, which develops autonomous and shared autonomous mobile robotic systems to provide new solutions for the environment and agriculture. Along with his research team, he designs innovative approaches to agricultural robotics to ensure accurate, safe and efficient robots. Lenain joined the Technology and Information Systems (TSCF) research unit at Irstea Clermont-Ferrand in 2006. He obtained his accreditation to supervise doctoral research in 2011. At EurAgEng in 2018, he was awarded the Francis Sevila Young Professional prize for scientific excellence.

His research has led to significant advances in the field of agricultural robotics. Since 2014, he has successfully led the Adap2e (Adaptive autonomous production platform) young researcher project. The project was funded by ANR for 4 years in order to design a reconfigurable robotic system to perform various operations and deal with the changing and unpredictable conditions in farming environments. Lenain is also president of the scientific council for the RobAgri associations, founded in November 2017 to share methods and knowledge in the hope of developing global solutions in agricultural robotics.

Lenain is following in the footsteps of two other Irstea colleagues who have previously won the award. Véronique Bellon-Maurel, Director of Irstea’s Environmental Technologies Department, was awarded the SEDIMASTER prize in 2016. Jean-Marc Bournigal received it in 2014 while he was President of Irstea.

Find out more