Sarah-Jane Krieger

Doctoral student in Sociology under joint supervision with the University of Bordeaux 2 University of Quebec in Rimouski

Skill area

Ongoing and past projects

PhD Thesis (in progress, provisional title): Ownership of environmental issues by users of natural spaces. The example of the recreational uses of the Gironde estuary (France) and Saint-Laurent (Quebec) under the co-supervision of C-H. Cuin (UB2) and N. Lewis (UQAR) and with scientific supervision of V. Deldrève (ADER Research Unit, IRSTEA).

The notion of acceptability is commonly used when referring to issues and measures to preserve natural areas. This incites information and education to residents and other users of these sites and determines a certain consensus on the policies to implement and respects the rules that are already established. However, this notion tends to overshadow the redefinition and adaptation work that users are using based on their own knowledge, experiences and collective belonging. How, after the production of naturalist knowledge, norms and values that govern the identification of environmental issues, can residents and more generally, users, take ownership of, through their own recreational practices, the environmental issues associated with these natural spaces? Three major hypotheses can be formulated to guide this inquiry: firstly, ownership differentiated according to the users’ ecological sensibility (a variable sensitivity with a development that represents the greening process of our societies according to Kalaora); secondly, according to the types of uses observed and the social norms to which they are subject, and finally according to the conservation policies implemented in different national contexts. In order to verify the relevance of our hypotheses, mainly qualitative surveys (for observations and interviews) are conducted in France and Quebec, the heirs of a different story in the preservation of natural areas, which is occurring in the Gironde and Saint Laurent estuaries. In these natural areas, the environmental issues are clearly identified and instigate conservation and political projects; there are also a variety of recreational, land and sea uses.

Publications

Krieger S-J.; Deuffic P. (2011) “Dead wood: a sustainable development issue?” Conference from the Hydro-Québec Institute in Environment, Development and society at Laval University: Adaptation to environmental changes: Interdisciplinary perspectives, Quebec, Canada, March 2011.

Rocle N.; Krieger S-J. (2010) “From words to deeds for the local and sustainable management of water: The example of the Robert Bay territory in Martinique," 4th series of days in social science research

 SFER-INRA-CIRAD, Rennes, France, December 2010.

 

 

Irstea - Centre de Bordeaux - Unité ADER

50, avenue de Verdun - Gazinet

33612 Cestas cedex

Sarah-Jane.Krieger@irstea.fr
0557855005

Sarah-Jane Krieger

Doctorante en sociologie en cotutelle Université de Bordeaux 2 et Université du Québec à Rimouski

Domaine de compétence

Sociologie de l’environnement

Sciences du développement territorial

Projets réalisés et en cours

Thèse de doctorat (en cours, titre provisoire) : L’appropriation des enjeux environnementaux par les usagers des espaces de nature. L’exemple des usages récréatifs des estuaires de la Gironde (France) et du Saint-Laurent (Québec) sous la co-direction de C-H. Cuin (UB2) et N. Lewis (UQAR) et avec l'encadrement scientifique de V. Deldrève (UR ADER, Irstea).

La notion d’acceptabilité est couramment employée au sujet des enjeux et mesures de  préservation des sites naturels. Elle motive des missions d’information et d’éducation auprès des résidents et autres usagers de ces sites, et conditionnerait un certain consensus sur les politiques à mettre en œuvre et le respect des règles édictées. Pourtant cette notion tend à occulter le travail de redéfinition et d’adaptation qu’opèrent les usagers à partir de leurs propres connaissances, expériences et collectifs d’appartenance. Ainsi, en aval de la production des connaissances, normes et valeurs naturalistes qui président à l’identification des enjeux environnementaux, comment les résidents et plus largement les usagers s’approprient, à travers leurs pratiques récréatives, les enjeux environnementaux associés à ces espaces de nature ? Trois grandes hypothèses peuvent être formulées pour orienter ce questionnement : celles d’une appropriation différenciée selon la sensibilité écologique des usagers (une sensibilité variable mais dont le développement témoigne du processus d’écologisation de nos sociétés selon Kalaora) ; selon les types d’usages observés et les normes collectives dont ils font l’objet, et enfin selon les politiques de préservation mises en œuvre dans des contextes nationaux différents. Afin de vérifier la pertinence de nos hypothèses,  des enquêtes principalement qualitatives (par observations et entretiens) sont menées en France et au Québec, héritiers d’une histoire différente en matière de préservation d’espaces naturels, et ce sur les estuaires de la Gironde et du Saint-Laurent. Sur ces espaces naturels, les enjeux environnementaux sont clairement identifiés et suscitent des politiques ou projets de préservation ; les usages récréatifs, terrestres et marins sont par ailleurs nombreux et diversifiés. 

Publications

Krieger S-J. ; Deuffic P. (2011) « Le bois mort, une question de développement durable ? » Colloque Institut Hydro-Québec en environnement développement et société de l’Université Laval Adaptation aux changements environnementaux : Perspectives interdisciplinaires, Québec, Canada, mars 2011.

Rocle N. ; Krieger S-J. (2010) « Des mots aux actes pour une gestion locale et durable de l'eau : L'exemple du territoire de la baie du Robert en Martinique », 4èmes journées de recherches en sciences sociales, SFER-INRA-CIRAD, Rennes, France, décembre 2010.

 

 

 

Irstea - Centre de Bordeaux - Unité ADER

50, avenue de Verdun - Gazinet

33612 Cestas cedex

Sarah-Jane.Krieger@irstea.fr
0557855005